Topology and Face Muscles

potatojesus.png

Restored Fresco of “Ecce Homo” (2012) [1]

This picture sums up how I’ve been feeling this semester. I made a lot of progress on the topology and the initial rig set up, but it took a while.

I had a number of topology issues that I wanted to fix.

The deformation of the brow and the way the topology distribution changed in the cheek area were an issue for me.


weird.png

A summary of the topology issues I wanted to fix.

When I modeled this character for another class I had used my former model as a base for it. I didn’t end up using that topology however, because I had issues in the eye and cheek area, just like I pointed out above.

 

elff.PNG

An elf I modeled for another class. Heather Smith. 2016

elf.PNG

The topology for the character early on, using my old model.

The cheeks and eyebrows had issues where they wouldn’t quite deform enough for the model, when I thought it should. I know that not every model can share the same topology, but this character wasn’t too far away from a human.

Here is where I feel like the fresco restoration image.

whathappened.PNG

Why?

The topology itself was better, but the shapes had been lost.

currently.PNG

The current model and UVs.

I redid the eyelid, shaping out a crease and making it halfway closed for rigging. The cheeks are more evenly distributed and I re-defined some of the shapes.

face_muscles.png

Face Muscle Study and Joint Plan

I created this study of the main facial muscles and overlaid my joints on top of that.

joints.PNG

Face Rig Setup

Since I was constantly editing and re-editing the character’s face, I often had to re-do the symmetry of the character. This messed up the UVs often. I got so annoyed that I wrote a script to flip the UVs automatically in the UV space I wanted.

uvsawyeah.PNG

I have to edit the UVs? Not again!

awwwwwyeah

My tiny script. I haven’t done vertical flip yet. I wanted to make a prompt that asked which axis, but I didn’t have the time.

LOD_and_High.png

Here is the latest version of the model, as well as a view of an LOD version.


[1] Despite Good Intentions, a Fresco in Spain Is Ruined.
http://www.nytimes.com/2012/08/24/world/europe/botched-restoration-of-ecce-homo-fresco-shocks-spain.html

The original “Ecce homo” by Elias Garcia Martinez(1930), a deteriorated version of the fresco, And the restored version by Cecilia Gimenez(2012).